How To Be Fabulous in 2015

image

As I don’t really do New Year’s resolutions I thought instead I’d put together a bit of a mudge/moodboard/guide/shambles in preparation of a new year. I’ve also thrown in a good helping of my favourite inspirational Tumblr posts and quotes that I hope will inspire you in the year to come. So, here is my version of how to be fabulous in 2015…

Have a power playlist composed of songs that make you feel like the badass omnipotent woman you are. These will obviously differ from person to person, but songs on mine include; ’Family Affair’ – Mary J Blige, ‘I Don’t Care’ – Fall Out Boy, ‘Sexy Lady’ – Jessie J, ‘Galvanise’ – The Chemical Brothers, ‘Moment 4 Life’ – Nicki Minaj and nearly everything from Lady Gaga’s ARTPOP (Venus, ARTPOP, Gypsy and Fashion are all brilliant power songs). Beyoncé’s self titled album has great feminist anthems like ‘Flawless’, and I’m also a big fan (read: listen to it almost daily) of Ricky Martin’s ‘She Bangs’.

imageimage

Every time you look in a mirror, smile. And that means every mirror from compact to full body to those little stubby floor mirrors you look at when trying on shoes. Now I don’t claim to be any form of clever-psychologist-mind-science-person, but I always think that if you do smile when you see a mirror it will start to become an automatic reaction. Surely you must end up associating your body with positivity, especially if smiling does release the endorphins I’ve been told it does. Yes, people do think I’m a bit of an idiot when I start grinning while touching my makeup up, but for me it’s incredibly worth it. image

image

Become a feminist. To quote my Sociology teacher when asked if she was one, “Everyone should be.”. And she’s exactly right. It’s 2015, and if we get hoverboards before gender equality then something is going quite badly wrong. My feminist goal for the new year is to call people out on their sexism in every day life and to not let gender roles stop me from doing anything I want to.

image

image

Make your own family. I am lucky to have the most amazing, supportive and loving family, but if you don’t then don’t be afraid to make your own.

image

Have a strong set of positive role models, fictional or real. For example, let’s look at the beauty and brilliance of Queen Nicki Minaj.image

image

image

Try and compliment someone different every day. You don’t know what it could mean to them (and it might just help you to see beauty in yourself).

image

Take a lot of selfies. Take 100 a day. Take a 1000. Take a million. You look gorgeous every. single. day. image

image

Define yourself as whatever the hell you want. And if anyone tells you different define them as ‘do not need in my life’.

image

Take inspiration from Elsa and ‘Let It Go’. By that I mean just let go of anything and everything negative in your life in 2014. This might mean letting go of an argument you had, forgiving them and moving forward, or letting them go out of your life if you can’t forgive. See 2015 as a fresh blanket of snow, unspoiled and full of potential fun.

image

Finally, my friends, I shall leave you with my favourite fabulous quote.

image

.

Happy New Year from angellec-makeup 

Leave a Reply

